BMW OEM Radio Aux Input kit? - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Mobile Electronics Forum

Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 29 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-10-2007, 05:09 PM   #1
dastrix
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 188
BMW OEM Radio Aux Input kit?

Hi Guys

Bavauto.com has this part listed for $40, but doesnt really say how it functions. Do you lose the Radio function? What mode does the BMW Business CD player need to be in?

Part Number: 82 11 0 149 389

This seems like a better solution for me as I dont want to lose my 6Changer function in the boot

Thanks!
dastrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 05:23 PM   #2
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,582
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dastrix View Post
Hi Guys

Bavauto.com has this part listed for $40, but doesnt really say how it functions. Do you lose the Radio function? What mode does the BMW Business CD player need to be in?

Part Number: 82 11 0 149 389

This seems like a better solution for me as I dont want to lose my 6Changer function in the boot

Thanks!
There's really no "functions" as this is merely an audio input for 2003+ e46 radios. We have the same ones on our site:

Auxiliary Audio Input - e46 Business CD
http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...roducts_id=293

Let me know if you have any further questions.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 06:19 PM   #3
dastrix
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 188
Thanks Tom, so it would show as AUX on the radio when the mode button is selected for IPod?

I'd then control the ipod totally from the ipod?

Thanks!
dastrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2007, 06:21 PM   #4
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,582
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dastrix View Post
Thanks Tom, so it would show as AUX on the radio when the mode button is selected for IPod?

I'd then control the ipod totally from the ipod?

Thanks!
After installation, pressing MODE will bring up an AUX selection on the radio - then all control (and charging) is up to the end user.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 07:42 PM   #5
dastrix
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 188
Thanks Tom, PM sent re: Dice kits
dastrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 11:48 AM   #6
DirtyMidget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 111
My Ride: 2003 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by dastrix View Post
Thanks Tom, so it would show as AUX on the radio when the mode button is selected for IPod?

I'd then control the ipod totally from the ipod?

Thanks!
This is correct. I got mine from the dealer for $32.00. Installed it in under an hour using this DIY: http://www.my330i.com/mod26.php. Got a bracket and holder for it as well. Works for me and it's cheaper.
DirtyMidget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 05:08 PM   #7
dastrix
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 188
nice install! ill go with that
dastrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 11:09 PM   #8
mikemira323i
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Will this kit work with a 1999 OEM BMW Business Tape Player through the CD changer button, or do I have to upgrade the radio to one with the mode button first?

Thanks,

Mike M.
mikemira323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 12:37 AM   #9
slo323ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 223
My Ride: 00 323ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemira323i View Post
Will this kit work with a 1999 OEM BMW Business Tape Player through the CD changer button, or do I have to upgrade the radio to one with the mode button first?

Thanks,

Mike M.
Believe you have to upgrade to 2003 first.

I got the Dice Ipod/Aux Kit.... who needs a cd changer when you have all of your songs on your Ipod/mp3 player/laptop(all of which can be plugged in with the Dice ipod/aux kit
slo323ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 01:35 AM   #10
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,582
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by slo323ci View Post
I got the Dice Ipod/Aux Kit.... who needs a cd changer when you have all of your songs on your Ipod/mp3 player/laptop(all of which can be plugged in with the Dice ipod/aux kit
Agreed.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 03:56 AM   #11
snowie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13
Guys, for ALL E46 system, USA SPEC has a unit called DF-BMW.

This gives you 2 channel of inputs through the CD changer (ie; you will need to disconnect the CD changer if you have one). It channels the music through 6-01 and 6-02 (ie; "disc 6", track 1 and 2).

You can switch the channels on your steering wheel controls.

Here's the best part... Circuit City is clearing these out. I bought one today (Houston) for $9.98!!

I'll use 1 channel for my XM Roady XT, the 2nd for my mp3 player.
snowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 01:13 PM   #12
Sneaky
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4,949
My Ride: Fixie
Yeah i got the aux imput, it does its job and installing was my first DIY. I would have got the Dice Unit but it seems my car wasnt pre wired for a CD changer.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
because Nothing breaks necks like a Black BMW.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sig by So Lo
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
href="http://ellllllis.tumblr.com/" target="_blank">Pictures I take
OVOxo till we overdose
Sneaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 08:04 AM   #13
RIsiaah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: LONDON
Posts: 34
My Ride: 330 coupe
Send a message via MSN to RIsiaah
Hey Guys, hey guuys So where and what are us who have the Nav supposed to do if we want to fit our ipods.
If I fit the standard BMW connector do I loose anything and the same if I fit the DICE
can anyone help and point me to the instruction for those of us with nav

PS im in the UK
RIsiaah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 10:39 AM   #14
danielkspencer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 180
My Ride: 2006 Mustang GT
Got mine from EAS, thanks Tom. Easy install. I put it in the little square indentation under the armrest, which is where my video interface switch is also.
__________________
2006 Mustang GT Black on Black Leather- Lots of friggin TORQUE!!!!!!!
danielkspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:50 PM   #15
RuZZeLL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 36
My Ride: 330ci
Send a message via AIM to RuZZeLL
resurrecting an old thread.. but Question... if I am able to hit mode and bring up AUX on my business CD, does that mean there could be an aux adapter already installed in my vehicle? What's the easiest way to find out? (Without taking everything apart)

OHHH how I would love to find an aux plug hidden under the carpet or something. WOO HOO HOOO that would be nice.

-R
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'04 330ci
RuZZeLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 02:13 PM   #16
RuZZeLL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 36
My Ride: 330ci
Send a message via AIM to RuZZeLL
FOUND IT!!!! Mounted inside the glove box on the left side. Has a little metal plate that says auxillary port.

:::HAPPY DANCE:::
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'04 330ci
RuZZeLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 06:37 PM   #17
Silver325
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 307
My Ride: 2005 ZHP 330Ci
Another resurrection!

I just installed an AUX cable I bought from Tisher using the DIY described at the My330ci web site. The paperwork that came with the cable said good for 09/2002 models on. As best I can tell my car fits that based on the VIN. The only problem is my business CD will only select FM or CD (head unit CD) and will not select an AUX setting from mode. Is this a head unit issue or should the cable make the unit recognize an AUX? Any way to make the head unit go into AUX?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Silver325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 06:35 AM   #18
MARKB17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Herriman, Utah
Posts: 4
My Ride: 2004 325xi Alpine
Aux unit for mp3 82 11 0 149 389

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyMidget View Post
This is correct. I got mine from the dealer for $32.00. Installed it in under an hour using this DIY: http://www.my330i.com/mod26.php. Got a bracket and holder for it as well. Works for me and it's cheaper.
Thank You, D.M. for you detailed walk through instructions and photos.

Mighty cool. I'm thinking of placing my unit plug in the same place.

Thanks Again,
Mark
__________________
The Silkworm dies, the moth lives they are not separate beings, but the same. Itís the same with man his false beliefs must die, so that he may know the joy of the BMW ride. What all others have felt in the silence was real. Something in you is dying. Itís called Ignorance.
MARKB17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 11:22 AM   #19
marshx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 15
My Ride: 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by MARKB17 View Post
Thank You, D.M. for you detailed walk through instructions and photos.

Mighty cool. I'm thinking of placing my unit plug in the same place.

Thanks Again,
Mark
Yea I think I'm going to do the same this spring with that DIY. Prolly a stupid question so forgive me, the DIY will work with the part from EAS ?
marshx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:47 PM   #20
carporsche
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 7
My Ride: 2004 BMW 325i
Re-ressurecting this thread

So i installed the aux kit using the instructions from the following link on my 2004 bmw 325i
http://www.my330i.com/mod26.php#D

I have a problem with the srep 9
"9. Run the other end of the Aux Kit cable down behind the radio and into the dash (Photo H)."

There is no way i can get it into the dash or any other place. there seems to be no outlet where i can route the aux cable.

Can someone help me!

Thanks
carporsche is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.