This is why you don't use AUTOZONE!!! - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-26-2013, 10:46 AM   #1
epistaxis2008
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 501
My Ride: 2002 330ci
This is why you don't use AUTOZONE!!!

Or this is why you should do prior research before ordering parts.

So my 2002 330ci has been randomly stalling for what seemed to be no apparent reason for about a year. Finally about a month ago the service engine soon light came on. I took it to autozone to get the code read. They told me it was the intake camshaft sensor. I asked if it would make the car stall and they said yes. So they brought me inside to look up the part at the counter and this is what they showed me >>> Click image for larger version

Name:	autozone cam sensor webpage result.jpg
Views:	1075
Size:	108.5 KB
ID:	507627

I put the part in the engine light went out and I thought I was all good. The light came back on the next day.

The resluts were the same as when I went home and searched it myself on their site. I sent a complaint through their support page and heard back from the regional manager the next day. I explained to him that his instore computer system and online search results were both wrong. He sounded a little unsure but said it would be no problem the return even though it had been installed already.

I then searched many other sites to find that they were all showing the parts opposite what autozone had and they were almost all half the price of autozone also. So I ordered my parts and when they came in swapped em out and the light went out and stayed out. And I returned the autozone part no problem.

Here's some of my other results>>>Click image for larger version

Name:	AA autozone cam sensor 33.jpg
Views:	1046
Size:	163.7 KB
ID:	507629Click image for larger version

Name:	AA bav auto cam sensor 33.jpg
Views:	934
Size:	94.5 KB
ID:	507630Click image for larger version

Name:	AA bma cam sensor 33.jpg
Views:	788
Size:	91.6 KB
ID:	507631Click image for larger version

Name:	AA fcp cam sensor 33.jpg
Views:	780
Size:	100.3 KB
ID:	507632
epistaxis2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 11:02 AM   #2
captkhaos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 148
My Ride: '02 330Ci
You could have bought a Peake Research fault reader for the price of the wrong sensor and never had to worry about AutoZone again. For me it was the best (and first) investment I made for my BMW.
captkhaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 12:01 PM   #3
Caden
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 332
My Ride: 2012 Genesis 5.0
If you would of just bought an OE part to begin with (which is a must for sensors) then you wouldn't of had that problem. I'm not judging, I did the same exact thing. I got a defective part. Fed up, I just went to the dealership and paid the extra dough which immediately turned off the light and it hasn't been back in 5 or 6 months.
__________________
Current: 2015 Hyundai Genesis 3.8 Ultimate
Wife's: 2008 BMW 535i

Preivous BMWs: 1988 325is, 2001 325i, 2001 330ci vert, 2006 325i.

Others of note: 2012 Genesis 5.0, 2011 Audi S4 APR Stage II.
Caden is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2013, 08:52 AM   #4
epistaxis2008
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 501
My Ride: 2002 330ci
Re: This is why you don't use AUTOZONE!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by captkhaos View Post
You could have bought a Peake Research fault reader for the price of the wrong sensor and never had to worry about AutoZone again. For me it was the best (and first) investment I made for my BMW.
How would the peak tool tell me? I would've got the incorrect part at AutoZone still anywaywhen it is incorrect in their system. The peak tool would give me a code and I would bring the code and fault reason to them and tell them it was my intake sensor and they would have still sold me the exhaust one all UNKNOWINGLY!

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

Last edited by epistaxis2008; 05-29-2013 at 08:53 AM.
epistaxis2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:05 AM   #5
Adionik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: MURICA
Posts: 581
My Ride: Bavarian Panzer
I'd never buy a sensor at Autozone
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinkley View Post
I tried to start my car without my undertray today. It exploded in a ball of fire. I put the tray back in, hoping that will fix the issue.
Adionik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:09 AM   #6
Patton323I
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,210
My Ride: R1100GS E46 E53
I'm not a huge fan of autozone. I think there customer service kind of sucks and there parts are just meh....
__________________
Patton323I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:14 AM   #7
Sedan Hussein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Southeast
Posts: 986
My Ride: e46
Never buy sensors from a place that sells plastic chrome hubcaps.
__________________
Sedan Hussein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:15 AM   #8
hanna
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 359
My Ride: BMW 328i
Sounds like autozone was actually good to you and gave you your money back with no problem. Its a generic autoparts store and mistakes like that will happen. What's you problem?? Go to a dealer, pay premium price and get the exact fit.
hanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:19 AM   #9
Leezy321
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 290
My Ride: 2001 bmw 325i
This is why you don't use AUTOZONE!!!

They're ok for cheap parts fast. I've gotten into many verbal arguments though bcuz the know it all employees swear by what the computer lists as correct parts and I'll clearly be holding a different part than what the computer lists in my hands for reference.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Leezy321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:48 AM   #10
choxor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5,587
My Ride: Redneck Truck
Don't trust autozone's parts catalog. Don't trust autozone employees because they can barely tie their own shoes and only rely on the parts catalog.

You tell them what you need, not the other way around.
__________________
choxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:50 AM   #11
jayb328i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 845
My Ride: E46 2000 328i
Autozone for sensors? I do not think so. But okay for spark plugs, as long as they do not have the Autozone brand name on it.
jayb328i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:02 AM   #12
Rocket22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 474
My Ride: 2003 325Ci
autozone isnt geared for BMW's

It is geared for the high % of cars on the road, camrys, explorers, mustangs, etc. Try to get a Volvo part there, it aint happening. I do use autozone for cheap parts, but critical parts for BMW come from elsewhere (note, yes I do have an AZ waterpump in the BMW).
Rocket22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:04 AM   #13
Stinger9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 9,489
My Ride: '04 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patton323I View Post
I'm not a huge fan of autozone. I think there customer service kind of sucks
Wouldn't that depend on the employees at each individual store? Like do the GA staff members get on the phone to my PA Autozone workers and tell them to treat me with condescension?

Actually I've always had great service from my local Autozone. Guy even took my old battery back and found a way to get extra credit on a new battery for a real nice savings!
Stinger9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:17 AM   #14
haurelio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,045
My Ride: 2001 bmw 325i
never buy aftermarket sensors, especially from autozone.. You can buy oe
Sensors at partsgeek.com for half price..
__________________
Contact me if you need to unlock your phone.

Also can code your car
haurelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:18 AM   #15
Patton323I
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,210
My Ride: R1100GS E46 E53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinger9 View Post
Wouldn't that depend on the employees at each individual store? Like do the GA staff members get on the phone to my PA Autozone workers and tell them to treat me with condescension?

Actually I've always had great service from my local Autozone. Guy even took my old battery back and found a way to get extra credit on a new battery for a real nice savings!
Well you would be correct. My autozone you stand around for 15 minutes before you're even looked at. I only buy parts for my Beetle (1973) and oil and fluids for the BMW's. That's about it.
__________________
Patton323I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:25 AM   #16
Stinger9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 9,489
My Ride: '04 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patton323I View Post
Well you would be correct. My autozone you stand around for 15 minutes before you're even looked at.
Interesting. I can't walk into mine just to browse. Guys ask me if they can help as I walk thru the door. Kinda like in a furniture store when you just want to look around.
You are correct, and I don't buy BMW parts at any chain store. Just the basics. Mostly chemicals.
Stinger9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:24 PM   #17
captkhaos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 148
My Ride: '02 330Ci
The Peake tool would have helped because you never would have had to take it to Autozone in the first place. Generic code readers make mistakes too; usually by not being specific enough. The Peake tool reads the code, you look it up and you get online with your favorite parts supplier.
captkhaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:25 PM   #18
rcsummers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Suburbia, NJ
Posts: 4,142
My Ride: M3
get in de zone. vatozone.
__________________
rcsummers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:33 PM   #19
Caden
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 332
My Ride: 2012 Genesis 5.0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayb328i View Post
Autozone for sensors? I do not think so. But okay for spark plugs, as long as they do not have the Autozone brand name on it.
Make sure you get the 4 electrode plugs. NGK BKR6EQUP are OE for the car. Some people have problems with others, but i've been running Bosch Platinum +4 for over 10k with no problems.
__________________
Current: 2015 Hyundai Genesis 3.8 Ultimate
Wife's: 2008 BMW 535i

Preivous BMWs: 1988 325is, 2001 325i, 2001 330ci vert, 2006 325i.

Others of note: 2012 Genesis 5.0, 2011 Audi S4 APR Stage II.
Caden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 01:01 PM   #20
TopasE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 230
My Ride: 2001 325Ci
Re: This is why you don't use AUTOZONE!!!

So you went to auto zone, made a repair with an over priced crappy sensor on your BMW with no other information besides a code and the guy behind the counters word (that probably drives a Honda civic with everything from their pimp out aisle on it), and your upset the repair didn't fix it and you had to get another part from somewhere else?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1369850503122.jpg
Views:	134
Size:	57.0 KB
ID:	508092  
TopasE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.